November 27th, 2019


2019 Automotive Heritage Journalism Awards Announced

Hosted by the Concours d’Elegance of America at St. John’s in Plymouth, MI, Brembo North America and the National Automotive History Collection (NAHC), the second annual Automotive Heritage Awards (AHA) will be presented at the Concours on July 28, 2019.

“We are celebrating the importance of automotive history and culture; classic, antique and collector vehicles; automotive enthusiasm and related topics,” said AHA producer Steve Purdy, “by presenting an extraordinary series of awards during the Concours d’Elegance of America at St. John’s.”

One of four separate annual award programs, the AHA Journalism Competition, focuses on best-told stories in a variety of categories presented for consumption during calendar 2018.

Journalism Categories are:

  • Best Car Culture Story

  • Best Automotive Travel or Adventure Story

  • Best Restoration/Repair Story

  • Best Personality Profile

  • Best Marque History Story

  • Best Facility Story (Museum, Factory, Race Track, etc.)

  • Best Heritage Motorsports Story

  • Best Blog or Column (including opinion) – based on five examples

  • Best Auto Heritage Book

  • Best Auto Heritage Audio or Video Story

Veteran auto journalists judge the competition, and internationally-known automotive fine art sculptor Alex Buchan creates the trophies for best in each category. Gold, Silver and Bronze medals go to others worthy of recognition. Entries may be submitted (via our website) between Feb. 1 and May 31, 2019, and winners will be determined by June 31, 2019. Entry Fee is $50 (or $60 if submitted after May 15).

The Automotive Heritage Awards also presents:

— Concept Vehicle of the Year – Managed by Richard Kollins, president of the Board of Trustees of the Friends of the National Automotive History Collection

— Future Collectible Vehicle of the Year – Judged by a panel managed by Brian Baker of the Society of Automotive Historians

— Lifetime Achievement Award — Selected in part by past recipients, this prestigious recognition honors someone for whom a substantial part of his/her career has been devoted to automotive heritage and whose work has made highly significant impact. A permanent display of all Lifetime Achievement Award recipients will be installed in the LeMay-America’s Car Museum, Tacoma, WA.

Details at: www.autoheritageawards.com

Automotive Heritage

About Automotive Heritage